Each year in New York, thousands of motor vehicle accidents happen. When people are involved in accidents, they might wonder whether they are required to report them or if they can instead handle them on their own without police involvement. It is important for drivers to understand their requirements for reporting accidents.
Under New York law, motorists who are involved in accidents must immediately report them to law enforcement if anyone is injured or killed. If there is property damage that exceeds $1,001, all of the drivers who were involved must file motor vehicle accident report forms with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of the accident. If they fail to file these reports, they may have their drivers' licenses suspended.
People should be aware that even apparently minor damage often costs more than people might think. They may also be injured even if they do not initially believe that they are. It is often best for drivers to report their accidents to the police and get evaluated by a doctor when they are in accidents that were caused by other motorists. People should also make certain that they understand their insurance companies' reporting windows and report their accidents within those timeframes.
If people are injured in car accidents, they may want to consult with personal injury lawyers as soon as they can after their accidents. Like other states, New York has established strict statutory limitations periods. If people do not file lawsuits within these times, they will not be able to try to recover damages for their losses in the future. Experienced lawyers may investigate their clients' cases in order to identify all of the defendants and the legal grounds of liability against each party that holds fault. They may be able to recover damages for their clients.Source: New York Department of Motor Vehicles